SEC Admits Blunder: Officials Erred on Oklahoma's Controversial Touchdown Call
Share- Nishadil
- September 21, 2025
- 0 Comments
- 3 minutes read
- 4 Views

In a rare and candid admission that sent ripples through the college football world, the Southeastern Conference (SEC) has officially conceded that game officials erred during a pivotal moment in the recent Oklahoma vs. SMU matchup. The controversy centers around a 'tricky' touchdown play that ultimately benefited the Oklahoma Sooners, a call the conference now states was incorrectly overturned.
The play in question unfolded when Oklahoma wide receiver Jalil Farooq made a catch, immediately taking a hit from an SMU defender.
The ball was jarred loose and subsequently recovered by the Sooners for what was ruled a touchdown after a video review. Initially, the on-field officials had declared it a fumble, a ruling that typically requires clear and indisputable evidence to overturn.
However, the replay officials at the time saw fit to reverse the call, awarding Oklahoma the crucial score.
This decision immediately sparked debate among analysts and fans alike, many arguing that the evidence to overturn the original fumble call simply wasn't there, or that the interpretation of the rules regarding a completed catch was flawed.
The SEC, which assigned the officiating crew for the inter-conference contest, released a statement clarifying its position.
According to the conference, upon further review by its coordinator of officials, it was determined that Farooq did not complete the required 'football act' after securing possession of the ball. The key phrase here, central to NCAA football rules, dictates that a player must not only gain control of the ball but also perform an act common to the game – such as taking a second step, having the ball long enough to clearly establish possession, or tucking it away – before being considered a runner whose possession is secure.
In this instance, the SEC's assessment concluded that Farooq lost control of the ball virtually simultaneously with the contact, failing to complete that necessary 'football act.' Therefore, the ball should have been considered live and the play should have remained a fumble, rather than being overturned for a touchdown.
This pronouncement from a major conference like the SEC is significant, as such public admissions of error are infrequent and underscore the complexity and pressure surrounding collegiate officiating.
The incident reignites discussions about the precision of replay reviews and the often-minute details that can swing the outcome of a game.
While the final score of the Oklahoma-SMU game stands, the SEC's acknowledgement serves as a powerful reminder of the human element in sports and the constant pursuit of accuracy in a game governed by milliseconds and complex rule interpretations.
.Disclaimer: This article was generated in part using artificial intelligence and may contain errors or omissions. The content is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice. We makes no representations or warranties regarding its accuracy, completeness, or reliability. Readers are advised to verify the information independently before relying on